UNWTO Awards for Excellence and Innovation in Tourism

The UNWTO Awards, created by the World Tourism Organization (UNWTO), are the flagship awards for the global tourism sector. They recognize exceptional leaders for their excellence and innovative achievements in the categories of creation and dissemination of knowledge, and lifetime achievement for individuals, as well as public policy and governance, research and technologies, enterprises and non-governmental organizations (NGOs).

Since the inception of the UNWTO Awards in 2003, UNWTO has acknowledged the contribution of eleven distinguished scholars as well as more than seventy institutions - public, private or NGOs - for their innovative tourism initiatives, which have served as an inspiration for competitive and sustainable tourism development at the local, national, regional and international levels.

The contribution of the awardees is in line with the policies, priorities and programme of work of UNWTO, including the Global Code of Ethics for Tourism and the principles and standards set in the United Nations’ Millennium Development Goals.

There are two categories of Awards for individuals:
a. UNWTO Ulysses Prize for Excellence in the Creation and Dissemination of Knowledge
b. UNWTO Lifetime Achievement Award

There are four categories of Awards for specific tourism initiatives:
a. UNWTO Award for Innovation in Public Policy and Governance
b. UNWTO Award for Innovation in Enterprises
c. UNWTO Award for Innovation in Non-Governmental Organizations
d. UNWTO Award for Innovation in Research and Technology

The UNWTO Ulysses Prize for Excellence in the Creation and Dissemination of Knowledge in Tourism will be awarded to a distinguished scholar for his/her outstanding contribution to create and disseminate innovative knowledge in tourism.

  • Applications for the UNWTO Awards for Innovation can be made by any individual or stakeholder whose accomplishments are related to the tourism sector.
  • The submitted initiatives are expected to have attained a certain degree of implementation. Non implemented initiatives shall not be considered.
  • Current staff members of the UNWTO shall be ineligible to submit an application or receive the UNWTO Awards. Nor shall be considered initiatives which have or have had UNWTO´s participation in their design and/or implementation.
  • Applications received after the deadline will not be considered.
  • Organizations are advised to present one initiative per year. Previously awarded initiatives without any further development will not be considered.
© 2007 Cambodiajobs -Template by Josh Peterson. Powered by Blogger. Privacy Statement - Phone:012 900 810 - Email: Cambodiajobs@gmail.com