Hillman Prize

The 2014 Hillman Prizes will be given for work produced, published, broadcast, or exhibited in 2013.

The received-by deadline for all submissions is January 31, 2014.

There is no submission fee.

Please use the Submission form at the bottom of this page. It has category-specific instructions as well as a box to enter your cover letter. You may upload your files, provide URL's and/or mail copies to our office depending on the category-specific instructions. If sending tear sheets (preferred for large Newspaper series), applicants should indicate with a highlighter or sticker which article is being submitted on each page.
2014 categories are as follows:

1. Book (bound volumes and ebooks)

2. Newspaper Journalism (story or series/in print or online) 

3. Magazine Journalism (story or series/in print or online) 

4. Broadcast Journalism (story or series/at least 20 minutes in total package length) Open to television, web TV, radio, podcast, and documentary film.

5. Web Journalism (publication/story or series/multimedia) Open to blogs, photojournalism, computer-assisted reporting, new investigative tools, mapping, crowd sourcing, and other multimedia projects. Entries should feature both text and visual components.

6. Opinion & Analysis Journalism (any medium) Includes all types of advocacy, opinion, commentary and analysis, normally short-form and/or frequent, regardless of medium. Open to newspaper and magazine columnists, TV and radio presenters, podcasters, blogs, and bloggers.

The contest is open to journalists and subjects globally, although work must have been intended for and widely accessible to a U.S. audience. You may nominate your own work or someone else's.

Winners will be announced in April 2014. Winners are awarded travel to New York City to receive a $5,000 prize and a certificate at our awards ceremony and cocktail reception to be held Tuesday May 6, 2014.

Submissions are judged by a distinguished panel of journalists: Hendrik Hertzberg, senior editor, The New Yorker; Ta-Nehisi Coates, Senior Editor, The Atlantic; Harold Meyerson, Washington Post columnist and editor-at-large, The American Prospect, Katrina vanden Heuvel, editor and publisher, The Nation, and Rose Marie Arce, senior producer, CNN. 

Since 1950, the Sidney Hillman Foundation has honored journalists, writers and public figures that pursue investigative journalism and public policy in service of the common good. Sidney Hillman was the founding president of the Amalgamated Clothing and Textile Workers Union of America, a predecessor union of Workers United, SEIU. Sidney Hillman, an architect of the New Deal, fought to build a vibrant union movement extending beyond the shop floor to all aspects of working people’s lives.

Proceed to the online submission form (link will open in a new window)

© 2007 Cambodiajobs -Template by Josh Peterson. Powered by Blogger. Privacy Statement - Phone:012 900 810 - Email: Cambodiajobs@gmail.com