The Ernesto Illy Trieste Science Prize

TWAS and illycaffè s.p.a. have instituted a high-level prize to honour distinguished scientists from developing countries. The Trieste Town Council and the Trieste International Foundation for Scientific Progress and Freedom are collaborating in this effort.
The first four-year cycle of the prize (2005-2008) was established to give international recognition and visibility to outstanding scientific achievements made in basic sciences by individual scientists in developing countries. It was named the 'Trieste Science Prize', in recognition of the unique and fundamental role that the Trieste System of scientific institutions plays in promoting science and technology in the developing world.
The second four-year cycle (2009-2012) of the prize, now called the 'Ernesto Illy Trieste Science Prize' to honour the late former President of illycaffè, will focus on sustainability science. The prize is awarded annually and rotate among the following fields:
  • Climate change and its impact on agriculture in developing countries (2009)
  • Energy (2010)
  • Materials science (2011)
  • Human health (2012)
Each prize carries a monetary award of US$100,000 generously contributed by illycaffè, a trophy and a certificate bearing a citation highlighting the major contributions for which the prize is awarded. The annual prize will be presented to the recipient at a special occasion arranged by TWAS, illycaffè and the Trieste Town Council.
  • Candidates must be nationals of developing countries, working and living in the South.
  • The prizes will only be awarded to individuals for scientific research of outstanding international merit carried out at institutions in developing countries.
  • Individuals who have received the Nobel Prize, the Tokyo/Kyoto Prize, the Crafoord Prize or the Abel Prize are not eligible for the Ernesto Illy Trieste Science Prize.
  • The evaluation is carried out by a scientific committee, chaired by the TWAS President, consisting of an authoritative and international jury and a designated representative from illycaffè.
  • Jury members are not eligible for the Ernesto Illy Trieste Science Prize.
  • Nominations are invited from TWAS members, selected individuals, as well as from science academies, national research councils, universities and scientific institutions. Self-nominations will not be accepted.
  • Nominations should be accompanied by a 5-6 page biographical sketch of the nominee including his/her major scientific accomplishments, list and copies of not more than 20 of the candidate's most significant publications and a complete list of publications. A brief professional C.V. of the candidate is also to be included.
DeadlineThe deadline for receiving nominations for the 2009 prize for outstanding contributions in Climate change and its impact on agriculture in developing countries is 31 May 2009.
Prof. Mohamed H.A. Hassan, Executive Director, TWAS, Ernesto Illy Trieste Science Prize, ICTP Campus, Strada Costiera 1134014 Trieste, Italy
Tel: +39 040 2240387Fax: +39 040 22407387E-mail:



NGOs Fund$type=list$m=0$cate=0$sn=0$rm=0$c=5$page=1$src=random-posts


Cambodia Jobs,3466,Contact,2,Guide,1,International Job,407,NGOs Fund,932,old,12,P,4,Privacy Statement,1,Scholarship,774,Training,1369,
Cambodia Jobs: The Ernesto Illy Trieste Science Prize
The Ernesto Illy Trieste Science Prize
Cambodia Jobs
Loaded All Posts Not found any posts VIEW ALL Readmore Reply Cancel reply Delete By Home PAGES POSTS View All RECOMMENDED FOR YOU LABEL ARCHIVE SEARCH ALL POSTS Not found any post match with your request Back Home Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat January February March April May June July August September October November December Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec just now 1 minute ago $$1$$ minutes ago 1 hour ago $$1$$ hours ago Yesterday $$1$$ days ago $$1$$ weeks ago more than 5 weeks ago Followers Follow THIS PREMIUM CONTENT IS LOCKED STEP 1: Share to a social network STEP 2: Click the link on your social network Copy All Code Select All Code All codes were copied to your clipboard Can not copy the codes / texts, please press [CTRL]+[C] (or CMD+C with Mac) to copy Table of Content